Woolf’s “To the Lighthouse”: Bending Narrative and Perception

On this day in 1927, British author Virginia Woolf published To the Lighthouse. In the tradition of Proust and Joyce before her, Woolf’s novel employs “focalization” technique and relies more on introspection and observation than it does conventional plot. Woolf herself regarded the work as “easily the best” of her books, and, since publication, it has grown to be considered a modern classic.

Related Articles

Responses

Your email address will not be published.